Skip navigation
Our Focus

Our Focus

     ABC Alumni:

  • Publicly advocate for improved funding for the ABC; for the protection of its independence and integrity; and to increase its presentation of quality Australian content.
  • Constructively criticise and comment on the ABC’s content, where warranted, and promote continuous improvement and public accountability.
  • Mobilise our skills in support of the ABC, including mentoring and training ABC staff.
  • Provide public speakers, articles and research on the role and importance of the ABC, and work with like-minded groups to campaign for strong and vital public broadcasting that delivers for the Australian public’s interest and enjoyment.
  • Provide opportunities for Alumni to meet together, and to hear from current ABC management and staff.


The Alumni has no affiliation or partnership with any lobby group or other organisation, aside from a working relationship from time to time with ABC Friends on issues of common interest.

ABC Alumni is a registered not-for-profit company limited by guarantee (ACN 628 088 371, ABN 85628088371). View our constitution.

We are registered as a charity with the Australian Charities & Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC) for the purpose of advancing education and public debate about the ABC.

Get involved

Get involved

You are qualified to join ABC Alumni if you have worked in the past at the ABC as an employee or contractor or are a former creator of ABC content. The annual cost is just $45.  If you don’t qualify, you can still sign up to this website as a supporter.

ABC Alumni Board

Jonathan Holmes (Chair)
ABC from 1982 to 2013 journalist, presenter, executive producer and overseas correspondent. Programs include Four Corners, Foreign Correspondent, The 7:30 Report and Media Watch.
Janet Clayton (Secretary/Treasurer)
ABC from 1988 to 2000. Secretary to the Board, TV News CAff Manager Resources, Chief of Staff and Head of Policy and Planning reporting to Brian Johns.
Quentin Dempster, AM
ABC 1984-2014. Investigative reporter, TV current affairs presenter/interviewer including 7:30 Report and Stateline (NSW), staff-elected Director on ABC Board (1992-1996).
Dr Gael Jennings AM
ABC from 1986. National science and medical reporter on TV News, Quantum and 7:30 Report. Presenter ABC Radio 3LO/774. Development Producer for science, natural history, indigenous, religion and ethics.
Sandra Levy AO
Eminent TV and feature film producer for over 45 years, CEO AFTRS, Director ABC Television, drama producer at Southern Star, Head of Drama ABC Television.
Alan Sunderland
ABC 1979-1988, 2005–2019, Melbourne reporter, News Management in Sydney, Editorial Director responsible for standards, training and complaints handling.

State Coordinators

Bobbie Mackley: Western Australia
ABC from 1980 to 2010. Secretary, then President, of the CPSU-ABC Section, and later CPSU honorary WA State President. President of ABC Friends WA (2012-2022).
Dr Mark Hayes: Queensland (co-convenor)
Researcher, reporter and producer of 7:30 Report in Queensland, including coverage of Fitzgerald Inquiry and Bjelke-Petersen Regime.
Trish Lake: Queensland (co-convenor)
Reporter, ABC News Brisbane, Washington overseas correspondent, producer of documentaries and feature films. Past president of SPAA.
David Brill: Tasmania (co-convenor)
One of Australia’s most respected news and documentary cinematographers, including coverage of war zones for programs such as Four Corners.
Phil Williams: ACT
International correspondent in Europe, London, Tokyo and chief foreign correspondent 2016-2021. Reporter for Countrywide, producer for Australian Story, Canberra 7:30 reporter and ACT Stateline presenter.
Peter Marks: Victoria
Software developer and technology commentator on ABC Nightlife program.